About Us


The Tennessee Youth Symphony (TYS) was founded in August 1997 for the purpose of providing high quality musical training and educational opportunities for young musicians in middle Tennessee. The organization is comprised of three performing ensembles that rehearse once a week from September until May. The TYS is a 501(C)3 organization.


The Tennessee Youth Symphony envisions young people achieving their fullest potential educationally, musically and socially while enriching their lives and positively influencing their families and communities. We seek to preserve musical tradition while embracing the present and shaping the future.


The Tennessee Youth Symphony seeks to encourage musical excellence by providing superior musical training and a variety of performance opportunities for young musicians in Middle Tennessee and surrounding areas. We believe that playing music together supports community among diversity enriching the lives of young people while encouraging a life-long love of the arts.

Our Conductors

Anna Maria A. Miller

Anna Maria A. Miller

Youth Symphony Conductor

Anna Maria Andrews Miller is in her eleventh year as String and Full Orchestra Director at Croft Middle Design Center. A native Pennsylvanian, Mrs. Miller received her Bachelor of Science in Music Education from Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania and received her Master of Music in Music Education from Boston University.

Read Full Bio

Melissa Edgington

Melissa Edgington

Prelude Strings Conductor

Melissa Edgington, a conductor, musician and performer, began her violin studies at age 8 in her hometown of Columbia, South Carolina. She attended the University of South Carolina and graduated Magna Cum Laude with a Bachelor’s Degree in Music with emphasis in Instrumental Music Education. In May 2012, Mrs. Edgington completed her Master’s Degree in Violin Performance from Belmont University.

Read Full Bio

Gary Miller

Gary Miller

Jazz Rock Ensemble Director

Gary Miller has taught privately for over 25 years. A native of Pennsylvania, Mr. Miller studied Trombone at Penn State University and Duquesne University, receiving a Bachelor of Science in Music Education. At Duquesne, Mr. Miller studied under the direction of Mr. Mathew Shiner. Mr. Shiner’s teaching methods were influential in the success of many Los Angeles, New York and Nashville Musicians and are continued in the teachings of his students.

Read Full Bio

2017/2018 Board

From left to right: Andrea Walkup, Andrea Lamere, Donna Scudder, Caleb Atkinson, Jamie Dreussi, Mark Nesbitt, Laura Mee

Donna Scudder, President – donna.scudder@tnys.org

Andrea Lamere, Secretary – andrea.lamere@tnys.org

Jamie Dreussi, Treasurer – jamie.dreussi@tnys.org


Caleb Atkinson – caleb.atkinson@tnys.org

Laura Mee – laura.mee@tnys.org

Mark Nesbitt – mark.nesbitt@tnys.org

Andrea Walkup – andrea.walkup@tnys.org

Get Involved

Are you ready to volunteer, support, or join the board? Click below to find out more.

Find Out How!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This